Sid and Nancy: Love kills!

Jag har försökt se Sid and Nancy: Love kills ikväll för att kunna blogga om den, men efter halva filmen så slutade filmen funka så jag gav upp. Har ändå sett den rätt mycket i tonåren. Istället kollade jag på en intervjuv med Deborah Spungen om vad hon tycker om filmen. Ni kan börja kolla tio minuter in i videon för att få veta detta.

 

Vad jag tycker om filmen: Allmänt smaklös och skabbig. Den visar inte hela sanningen utan man märker att dem har gjort filmen endast för att tjäna pengar. Dem romantiserar hela Sids och Nancys misärliv. Dem försöker göra det till en romantisk komedi, men misslyckas verkligen. Visst man skrattar i den biten när Nancy hänger upp och ner kanske en gång, men ändå så tänker man att det är rätt så sorgligt hur han kan behandla sin kvinna så. Jag hade inte velat att den jag är med ska hänga mig upp och ner från en hög byggnad sådär. Tror knappast Nancy skrattade heller när den händelsen skedde. Dem romantiserar drogerna och det är det som gör mig mest förbannad. Utan drogerna så tror jag inte ens Nancy hade kollat åt Sids håll även om han inte hade provat droger när han träffade henne utan det var hon som fick han till att börja. Hon behövde väl en kompanjion. En partner in crime så att säga. Nej, deras förhållande bestod bara av droger, sex och våld. Verkligen inget förhållande som man ska sikta efter...

 

Vad John Lyndon tyckte om filmen:  

"I cannot understand why anyone would want to put out a movie like Sid and Nancy and not bother to speak to me; Alex Cox, the director, didn't. He used as his point of reference - of all the people on this earth - Joe Strummer! That guttural singer fromThe Clash? What the fuck did he know about Sid and Nancy? That's probably all he could find, which was really scraping the bottom of the barrel. The only time Alex Coxmade any approach toward me was when he sent the chap who was playing me over to New York where I was. This actor told me he wanted to talk about the script. During the two days he was there, he told me that the film had already been completed. The whole thing was a sham. It was a ploy to get my name used in connection with the film, in order to support it.

To me this movie is the lowest form of life. I honestly believe that it celebrates heroin addiction. It definitely glorifies it at the end when that stupid taxi drives off into the sky. That's such nonsense. The squalid New York hotel scenes were fine, except they needed to be even more squalid. All of the scenes in London with the Pistols were nonsense. None bore any sense of reality. The chap who played Sid, Gary Oldman, I thought was quite good. But even he only played the stage persona as opposed to the real person. I don't consider that Gary Oldman's fault because he's a bloody good actor. If only he had the opportunity to speak to someone who knew the man. I don't think they ever had the intent to research properly in order to make a seriously accurate movie. It was all just for money, wasn't it? To humiliate somebody's life like that - and very successfully - was very annoying to me. The final irony is that I still get asked questions about it. I have to explain that it's all wrong. It was all someone else's fucking fantasy, some Oxford graduate who missed the punk rock era. The bastard.

When I got back to London, they invited me to a screening. So I went to see it and was utterly appalled. I told Alex Cox, which was the first time I met him, that he should be shot, and he was quite lucky I didn't shoot him. I still hold him in the lowest light. Will the real Sid please stand up?

As for how I was portrayed, well, there's no offense in that. It was so off and ridiculous. It was absurd. Champagne and baked beans for breakfast? Sorry. I don't drink champagne. He didn't even speak like me. He had a Scouse accent. Worse, there's a slur implied in the movie that I was jealous of Nancy, which I find particularly loathsome. There is that implication that I feel was definitely put there. I guess that'sAlex Cox showing his middle class twittery. It's all too glib, it's all too easy."

 

Jag länkar videon här nedanför så får ni veta vad Deborah tycker om filmen för hon är verkligen inte alls med på att den blev publicerad överhuvudtaget. Därför tycker jag det är så fult för på baksidan av min bok så är där en "glambild" på dem två där dem ser värsta Hollywoodfräscha ut. Ehm, så såg dem aldrig ut i verkligheten. Slutet på filmen är bara skrattretande med när dem gifter sig i himlen.

 

Joe Strummer gjorde t.o.m en cathy låt till filmen..
 
Glambilden som inte vill hamna på rätt håll för mig. :s
Den vällästa boken som jag köpte på antikvariatet.
Inte den riktiga Nancy som man skulle kunna tro...
 

Kommentera inlägget här :